No. 24 :Exercise Enough to Lose a Bra Size – Or Two

Today marks exactly one year since I joined the Weight Watchers online program. Today I celebrate a 42 lb. lighter Tasha. (To toot my own horn, my physician saw me a month before I “formally” started and has me 5 lbs ahead, making my weight loss at 47 lbs. Holla!)

At left: “Take a picture of me.  This is the heaviest I’ll ever be.”

At right: “I took classier vacations last year.”

At 29 years old, it has been my very first foray into weight loss and it has been a great one. For those of you who are interested have time to kill, here is what I’ve learned.

Why Weight Watchers Works For Me

I had reached the Dreaded Deuce – the big 200 lbs. How did this happen right before my eyes?! It happened mostly because I never paused to learn just how poorly I was eating.  (Oh Smash Burger.  How I miss you.)  Sure, I took college nutrition freshman year but that was too complicated to remember.  Macro and micro nutrients? Ergogenics? Electrolyte balance? I’m stressed out just reading those words.

With Weight Watchers, every food is given a number based on fat, carbohydrates, protein and fiber.  There’s a handy calculator and bar code scanner right on my phone.  One number makes the process simple enough for dumb, lazy humans like me.  (Hmm.  This food bad.  That food worse.  Walking= Some free chocolate.)  See? It simplifies things.

Also, no “diet” is going to work for me if I can’t eat chocolate.  (Specifically chocolate cake, if you need to thank or flatter me.)

Weight Watchers lets me eat chocolate cake.  That had me at hello.

The Numbers Game

To this day, I have never owned a scale. I weigh in once (and only once) a week on the scale we have at work.  I believe the scale can be a slippery slope to self hatred and unhealthy obsession.  We know when our bodies have had enough and are begging for healthier foods and exercise.

The flip side of this, of course, is that without the scale I ignored the fact that my 5’3’’ frame was supporting all 200 of those l-bs.

So I have reached a truce with the scale.  It serves an important purpose – a reminder of the consequences of our choices and encouragement to choose better in the future.  But it is not part of my daily routine and that number does not define who I am.

Staying Motivated

I have a healthy self image. I truly like myself at 155 and I truly liked myself at 197.  My weight doesn’t tell you anything about me.  It doesn’t convey what kind of friend I am.  My weight doesn’t tell you how I treat people less fortunate than me.  My weight doesn’t tell you that I don’t judge people.

My healthy self image is part of the reason that this year hasn’t been particularly agonizing for me.  My ultimate happiness didn’t hinge on huge, unrealistic losses every week.  I was thankful for each little bit lost because over time it added up to 42! Slow and steady wins the race (and takes you from size 18 to size 12)!

So let me take this minute to give a shout out to my Mom.  Thank you for never nit picking your weight in front of me, for never criticizing what I was eating, and for generally ignoring the word “diet”.  Thank you for praising my accomplishments and happiness instead of the way I look.   I didn’t realize how important this is to a girl’s self esteem until I was an adult. I love you!

Where I’ll Go from Here

Weight Watchers will continue to be part of my life. I won’t pretend that I have been tracking everything I ate this entire time.  But I’ve learned something and the principles are still with me.  Over the past few months I’ve slowly lost weight even without tracking.

I also hope that by posting this here I will be held accountable and will be able to lose a few more pounds or at least maintain where I am.  I feel so great! By keeping going for a year already I’m convinced that I can keep up this lifestyle.

P.S.

As the title says, the goal in my 30 Before 30 was to lose at least a bra size. This was a silly way to measure success given that I have no bras that fit me correctly. My current measurements state that I’ve lost 6″ in the bust! Woot woot!

12 Comments

Filed under 30 Before 30

12 responses to “No. 24 :Exercise Enough to Lose a Bra Size – Or Two

  1. Mom

    First off,congratulations. Most anyone who has tried to drop some weight knows the hardship it can bring. How lucky I am to have you in my life I do and always will love you with all my heart. What a con-curer you truly are in so many ways. It’s true a bra size cannot begin to measure success. Reading your post about YOU is the true success, what wonderful things about yourself that you have taken notice of.
    We who happen to be in your circle are the lucky ones. Thanks for being you and sharing yourself with us. You rock!
    Mom

  2. Bruce W.

    I’ve always loved how you set your sights on a goal and make it happen. The world is your oyster young lady (or chocolate cake if you prefer.)

  3. Becca Lund

    you’re amazing, Tasha! you’re an inspiration — and truly are a great friend!

  4. Tasha, you are amazing!

  5. Lori

    Tash, I am so proud of you! You look great, but more importantly you feel great! You are such a good example to me and I wish that more people could have your positive self image….including myself. I look up to you in so many ways and I loved the part about you appreciating your mom for her role in your healthy self image. That’s something important for me to remember for both of my kids! And I agree with your mom, we who get to know you in real life truly are the lucky ones!! :)

  6. PushDumpFatButton

    Reblogged this on Push Dump Fat Button.

  7. I would love to interview you for a health & fitness blog if you are up for it? Please email me at thisischeriroberts@yahoo.com

  8. Betsyboo

    You look amazing! I am so proud of you – beautiful Tasha!!

  9. Congratulations! :) Food, good food, is definitely the key. And 6″ loss is AT LEAST a bra size!

  10. You look amazing. I’ve done WW after all of my pregnancies, it’s a great program.
    Congrats!

  11. Kali

    congrats tash! you have always been happy, but wanting to be happy and healthy (with food balance! pass the pie!) is so important. love you!

  12. Pingback: 30 Before 30 | DIYing to be Domestic

Leave a Reply

