Thrift Store Lamp Makeover

When I started out remodeling our spare bedroom I bought two lamps from the thrift store. I paid $2.50 for the short one and $5 for the tall one.

I took what I learned from Ryan Taylor when we redid my office lamps here.  So first I taped the cords and hardware and then I spray painted them with primer – in this case, automobile primer because it was what we had.

After I spray painted them white, I bought $10  shades and hot glued fabric to them.

I had to pleat the fabric on this shade because the top and bottom were not the same width – deceptive little shade.


Have you redone your own  lamps?

(If you look closely you’ll see the shade we chose for the walls.  I promise we’ll reveal the rest of the room soon!)

5 Comments

Filed under DIY

5 responses to “Thrift Store Lamp Makeover

  1. Mom

    That looks awesome! What are you doing with the other shade?

  2. I love this! Where did you get the lamp shades?

  3. Cidney

    Love the print and color!!! I cannot wait to see the rest of the room!!

  4. Love these lamps, they look expensive! Well done :)

  5. Pingback: “Finished” Yellow and Gray Bedroom | DIYing to be Domestic

Leave a Reply

