Summer, Summer, Summer Time

The weather in Salt Lake City may indicate otherwise, but summer is close.  As in I-can-almost-taste-it close.  To fulfill my fantasies of digging in the dirt and eating dinner on the patio, I created a summer-inspired board on Pinterest.  (Pinterest is a website where you can create “boards” and “pin” images from the internet that you want to remember. I waste the majority of my time there.)

When I stumbled upon this tricycle online I had to pin it.  And from that moment it just seems like it’s going to be an essential part of my summer.

Why a tricycle?  I got on my mom’s bike not long ago and it was not pretty.  I strongly believe that three wheels could solve all my problems!  Here it is in all its glory:

It’s for sale at Wal-Mart for $260.  But I just swoon online because that seems like so much money for a bicycle.

Imagine my surprise when Doug and I saw this baby on display on the side of the road today at a recycled bicycles store. A real tricycle!

Yes, that’s my finger up top.  It was too bright to see the screen.

It was fate!  There she was – a beautiful, gently-used Schwinn. There was no price tag but I was already fantasizing about driving around the neighborhood with Jack in the basket behind me.

The dealer crushed quickly burst that bubble when he told us it was $500.  I failed to hide my surprise and proceeded to tell him that I could buy a new one at Wal-Mart for $260.  He and his Schwinn seemed too uppity to care about my Wal-Mart taste.

I was so close to owning a tricycle.  Sigh.  It may have slipped through my fingers today but I will figure out how to make this happen!

In case you couldn’t catch the reference to the Prince of Bel-Air from my title, here is a happy little reminder:

Update:  The Wal-Mart tricycle is actually a Schwinn!  If only I knew that tidbit of information when the store guy bashed it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Summer, Summer, Summer Time

  1. Mom

    I need a picture of that imagine. You peddling happily along, Jack in the basket as a slight breeze flaps his ears. His tongue hanging out in excitement, you giggling as you zoom past! Great image.

Leave a Reply

