Street Corner Symphony

I’ve been looking for the perfect dining table ever since the DIY pros gave us advice on our living/dining room in DIY Magazine.  I’ve searched the classifieds on Craigslist and KSL.  I’ve almost caused car wrecks to slow down in front of garage sales.  I’ve frequented our local thrift stores.  In times of despair I’d even look at full-price tables in the Sunday ads. When I’d had enough I’d stop searching for a couple months and I’d serve dinner – tail between my legs – at the bar.

I know what you’re thinking and you’re right – I’m too picky. But I wanted to keep within the guidelines suggested by John and Sherry – first and foremost that it is a round table so that people can maneuver the tight space easier .  In addition, Doug requested that the table base be in the center of the table and not supported by four legs that get in the way of chairs.  I wanted chairs that weren’t ornate.  Oh, and did I mention I didn’t want to pay hardly anything?  You can see why I never found anything.

Then one day on the way home I saw it on a street corner  on display with some other furniture for sale just 3 blocks from our house.

It’s in rough shape.  It needs to be sanded and painted. The chairs some serious wood glue.  (If wood glue can glue something that may or may not be wood. . . )

A staple gun and some new fabric will cheer up these sad ole’ chair cushions.

I told Doug I would refuse to pay more than $50 for it.  So I didn’t have time to  process a potential negotiation when the seller requested $35.  Sold!

Anyone see the same potential?

4 Comments

Filed under DIY

4 responses to “Street Corner Symphony

  1. Haha love the title, it’s perfect! I think that baby has tons of potential especially with your brains behind it! Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  2. Dorothy

    When we were first married we used a card table UGGG! Then someone volunteered a old metal table with 4 chairs that need recovering. It was a step up from what we had so we took it. Ben painted the table with a yellow epoxy paint that was high gloss and practically indestructable. We reupholstered the chairs and used that set for MANYyears and loved it. You will also love the pedestal table. Good Choice!

  3. Mom

    That is fantastic, can not wait for the finished product :)

  4. Fantastic beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your site,
    how could i subscribe for a weblog web site?
    The account aided me a appropriate deal. I have been a little bit acquainted of this your brozdcast provided vivid transparent
    idea

Leave a Reply

