Chalk It Up to a New Frame

One of my favorite parts of my office makeover was the chalkboard we created for my windowsill. Ryan Taylor had this frame, which  he’d used for numerous parties and home decor projects.  I love that this frame had a life before it settled in my office!

We wanted to strip the color from the frame and show that natural wood.


Ryan applied wood stripper to strip it down.  I’d never used wood stripper before so I held the frame while Ryan used his elbow grease.  After applying the liquid, he used a scraper and a rough brush to remove the layers of paint.

We then cut a piece of  plywood board to fit the frame. The board you use should be smooth as a baby’s bottom.

We then applied two coats of chalkboard paint and let it try before inserting it into the frame.

Chalkboard paint is so versatile and is now available in different colors.  I love mine, but I am concerned about its “erasability.”  Can anyone encourage me to erase it and start fresh with a new quote?

There’s more of this office makeover! Click here for the before and after photos, here to see my bookshelf redesign, here to see how to update an old lamp, here to see how we painted the furniture, and here to see it debut on ABC 4.)

5 Comments

Filed under DIY

5 responses to “Chalk It Up to a New Frame

  1. I’ve found that baby wipes work like a charm to erase writing on the chalkboard I made for my photo prop!! I have oodles, I can bring you some.

  2. Betsyboo

    That’s such a great quote – especially for you I must say! Why erase it? :)

  3. Mom

    I will say, as did Besyboo, that quote fits you like a glove. Here is a thought, make it a permanent quote in your office somehow and change your chalkboard with new quotes when you feel like it.

  4. The stripped wood is amazing! What a beautiful accent to your space.

Leave a Reply

