From Amateur to Professional: My Office Makeover

Once upon a time – a long, long time ago – I shared the TV spot on my office makeover.  My brilliant friend Ryan helped me take my office from dated and dismal to stylish and sophisticated.  It’s time to bring you up to speed.

I inherited this new office about the same time we were planning our makeover.  This picture below is the blank office space and the furniture I had to use.  It was literally a blank slate – white walls and all.   My friend Ryan is the one working diligently and my sweet Doug is the one posing in the background.  Never one to miss the opportunity for a Kodak moment, that one.

We didn’t have a budget for new furniture even though it clearly needed a pick-me-up.  The space desperately needed character but we couldn’t paint the walls.  And let’s be honest, I didn’t have a huge budget.

But do not fear!  Ryan is one skilled designer (and a very generous friend).  Below are the after pictures:

I’ll be sharing how we painted the furniture, gave it new hardware, and created a chalkboard focal point.

Oh, when I saw “we” I mean “Ryan.”  I just did as I was told. And Doug brought his muscles.

I’ll show how Ryan dressed up this everyday bookshelf.

I’ll show you how we reinvigorated this lamp from the thrift store.

I’ll show a trick I learned from the Curator of the Utah State Capitol on how to keep these canvas prints and other artwork level day in and day out.

Didn’t he do great? Stay tuned for the play by play!

There’s more of this office makeover! Click here to see my bookshelf redesign, here to see how to update an old lamp, here to see how we painted the desk and gave it new hardware, and here to see it debut on ABC 4.)

9 Comments

Filed under DIY, home decor

9 responses to “From Amateur to Professional: My Office Makeover

  1. Mom

    Like I said before, LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT. (I need to know how to keep canvas prints straight)?

  2. Pingback: Bookcase Makeover with Crown Molding | DIYing to be Domestic

  3. Pingback: Impromptu Office Redesign: I Need a Nap! | DIYing to be Domestic

  4. Pingback: Old Lamp Redo: From Brass to Class | DIYing to be Domestic

  5. Pingback: Chalk It Up to a New Frame | DIYing to be Domestic

  6. The office looks simple yet sophisticated. The bookshelf looks less cluttered. I bet those two seats are comfortable. Thanks for posting this one.

Leave a Reply

