DIY Cake Stand for Under $5

I’m throwing a Hannah Montana rock star party for a group of seven year olds.

Go ahead and really marinate in that.

Now that you’ve gotten past the initial shock, let me convince you that this party can have a healthy dose of pink without being nauseating.  But don’t take my word for it! Check back soon for the final details.

In the meantime, let me show you one way that I will incorporate pink in a cheap, trendy way: cake stands.  You can’t find any pink cake stands or other displays without spending a fortune.  But you can create your own for just pennies.

Start with a plate from the thrift store.  Mine cost .50 cents.  Measure the width both ways to find the center of the plate.  We marked the center with a dry erase marker.

While you’re at the thrift store, pick up a candle stick holder.  I chose two of these – a green one and a purple one.

Using gorilla glue, spread a thin line of glue on the rim of the candlestick holder.  Press the candlestick holder on the plate so that the candlestick holder is centered over your center mark.

Yes, that is not me applying the Gorilla Glue.  I don’t think Doug trusts me with strong adhesives.

When the glue is dry, apply a coat of primer.  (Just to be safe, I applied two coats.)  Then spray paint the stand with the color of your choice.

I’m thrilled with the final product.


Cost breakdown for two cake stands:

  • 2 plates at .50 cents each: $1
  • 2 candlesticks at $1 each: $2

Total cost? $3, not including paint.

Stay tuned to see the cake stand debut at this crazy party!

7 Comments

Filed under DIY, Party Planning

7 responses to “DIY Cake Stand for Under $5

  1. Mom

    That is so HIP ! What a great idea, I love it, love it, love it…

  2. Mom

    That idea opens a new door for all types of cake stands, how fun.

  3. Hailey

    I did one like that too – but used a fun coffee cup I found. I didn’t paint it like you did though – so cute! I love the final product too!

  4. Lori

    Ok, so the cake stand turned out great! But that’s to be expected from you! ;) But I really love too that your mom just said, “I love it, love it, love it!” Cracked me right up!

  5. Mom

    Lori, It is my favorite go to quote!

  6. Pingback: Even a Man Can Party Plan « DIYing to be Domestic

Leave a Reply

