Past Party: Decorating a Graduation Party

This spring my cousin graduated from the University of Utah and I wanted to throw a party with all things red.  (Go Utes!)  Without much time to prepare, I kept this party pretty simple.

I spiced up the beverage container with just a little ribbon and a description of the graduate’s degree – atmospheric sciences.

I turned these dollar-store vases upside down, shoved glittery garland inside, and topped with candles.  I wrapped each candle in University of Utah paper I found at the local scrapbook store.  It was a great centerpiece for the food table.

I used more University of Utah paper and diecuts from the scrapbook store to spruce up this beer bucket.

I also spruced up the beer bottles with a little ode to the graduate.


I used red and white carnations – perfect for the University of Utah.  And ya’ll know how much love I have for single bud vases.  A little graduation cap diecut and graduation confetti tops off the table.

This wood U was easy to paint and a cheap way to incorporate the traditional cap letter logo.

This was a pretty simple party and I think the graduate enjoyed it.  How else can you incorporate collegiate elements?

2 Comments

Filed under Party Planning

2 responses to “Past Party: Decorating a Graduation Party

  1. Mom

    That was a hit. Go Utes! Love the individual tags on the beer bottles!

  2. Cody Oppermann

    I finally got around to finding your blog again, and here I am! Yes, the party was excellent. Thanks Tasha! Glad to see you’re still updating the blog.

Leave a Reply

