Patio Drapes: Super or Superfluous?

Summer is almost over and I’m just now considering sprucing up our patio.    Last summer we added some lighting and a patio table but it still needs some umph.  It’s difficult to work with since it’s all aluminum, traps the heat inside, and is made of 50 year old cracking concrete.

Please pretend like that folding table isn’t there.

Doesn’t it seem like one giant gray blob? I intend to add an outdoor rug under our table set.  Other than that, I’m stumped.

Last month I was reading a magazine when I stumbled across an image of a cozy front porch with drapes.  Yes, a porch with drapes.  I know what you’re thinking:  If the porch is covered or enclosed in some way, you don’t need drapes.  The sun isn’t shining on you.  The rain isn’t a threat. You’re out of your gordexo, you silly girl.

And normally, I’d agree.  Why worry about something that has no purpose at all? What a waste.  But that magazine picture  keeps popping up in my head –   Look at these images and tell me if you can see why.

Image found here.

Image found here.

Image found here.

Image found here.

All right, all right.  Our patio will never look like these.  But wouldn’t a drape our two help dilute the pain of those sad aluminum braces? Couldn’t some simple fabric break up the sad gray coloring?

Tell me: Are outdoor draperies super or superfluous?

11 Comments

Filed under Garden

11 responses to “Patio Drapes: Super or Superfluous?

  1. Mom

    I think they are SUPER. That seems like an inexpensive way to add some color and texture to your gray patio. I am sure there are fabrics to withstand the elements. I would also suggest bringing in more greenery with pots and such!

  2. Mom

    Another thought, you have the lighting why not hang a chandelier along with your existing lighting to anchor the patio table like in the first picture you posted with the black wicker chairs which I love!

  3. Lori

    I watch a lot of HGTV and they often use drapes when decorating an outdoor area. It totally brings in different colors and textures. Also, I LOVE your mom’s idea about a chandelier!! Maybe you could find an inexpensive one on one of your trips to the DI? Also, that would give you another DIY project to make it look just the way you want it to. :)

    • I’ve seen a lot of bloggers repaint those old-school brass chandeliers for a really classy look. But I am thinking about a fan to help the heat trap under there and wonder how to work both?

  4. U, girlie–you’ve got a dog. no outdoor drapes. What about painting the concrete? That would add lots of color and change the drab? Or what about making a “painting” for the side of the garage that is outdoor durable. And fairy lights?

    • I would just love to paint the concrete. And yes, the canine can be a trouble maker. I think I may have subconsciously ignored that problem . . .

  5. Dorothy

    I don’t know how your patio faces, but at my house, anything that is not VERY SOLIDLY ATTACHED would be destroyed with the winds we get. I have seen a neighbor with fans close to the ceiling. They seem to hold up okay. Adding color is a good idea. I’ll bet you will come up with something that will work. Large pots seem to hold up okay, and this year I purchased More- Grow soil with moisture beads in it. They work quite well, and the soil doesn’t dry out so easily.

  6. Mom

    Good point by Ms. Fine about Jack and the outdoor drapes! He wouldn’t mess with them would he?

  7. Mom

    Lori has a great idea with finding a DI chandelier that would be cool or a fan? Bring some life back into something!

Leave a Reply

