No-Sew Custom Table Runner

About two years ago I took a sewing class through our community’s continuing education program . Once a week I went to the local elementary school and spent an hour or so in its sewing lab.  I chose the easiest pattern (an apron) and relied on our teacher for advice whenever I got stumped.  By the time the course ended, my apron still wasn’t completed. In fact, I was so defeated, I didn’t even attend the final course.

Given my interests in home decor and party planning, sewing would be a h.u.g.e asset.  So huge, actually, that I have heavily considered adding sewing mastery to my soon-to-be-revealed 30 Before 30 List.  As of now, I just can’t commit.

Sewing inequities met reality when I couldn’t find a cheap black and white damask table runner for a bachelorette party.  A crafty friend suggested I try Stitch Witchery, a fusible tape that is ironed between two layers of fabric for a permanent fuse.

So I bought the Stitch Witchery at JoAnn’s for a couple of dollars.

Image found here.

I added an inch to each size of the table runner dimensions I wanted.  I then folded and ironed a one inch strip along each side to create a fresh crease.

Once I had a nice crease, I cut a piece of Stitch Witchery of the same length. I placed the strips as close as possible to the inside edge so the fabric wouldn’t flop around.

Apparently Jack liked the Stitch Witchery, too.  Somehow when I wasn’t looking he snatched up the tape and ate half of it.   Mmmmm.

I fused the long sides first.  When I was ready to fuse the two shorter ends, I folded and pressed the corners before I ironed fused them together.

This helped keep the inside AND the outside of the short sides crisp and clean.

The runner was great for the bachelorette party, which I’ll be debuting soon.  Thanks Stitch Witchery!

What do you think?  Should I tack on a sewing project for my 30 Before 30 List?

16 Comments

Filed under DIY, Party Planning

16 responses to “No-Sew Custom Table Runner

  1. msfineprint

    Love it. I’m glad it turned out so well.

    And you obviously know that I think you should re-try sewing.

  2. Lauren

    Yes, and then we can learn together! It’s one of my new year’s resolutions that I have yet to start on (prob. b/c I don’t have a sewing machine – it’s on my b-day list). :)

  3. Great Job!

    I love the fabric too! Isn’t stitch Witchery the greatest?! Thanks for your comment on my blog! Can’t wait to see what else you do with it!

  4. Thanks for visiting my blog today. I’ll chime in as another vote for you re-trying the sewing thing. I don’t have a lot of skill, but just knowing how to do hems and pillows is wonderfully useful!

    P.S. – I love the name of your blog!

  5. Oh, sorry, I think i’m logged in under my wordpress account! It’s me L.Duncan (www.home23duncanboys.blogspot.com)

    Hopefully I can transfer everything over to wordpress when I figure out how to use it;-)

  6. I’m so glad you stopped by my blog and let me know about this project. I love Stitch Witchery and use it a lot, but I didn’t know that tip for getting a crisp corner. I always struggle with making them look neat. Great tip.

  7. Lori

    I love the fabric you picked! Also, how does that Stitch Witchery hold up in the laundry? Can’t wait to see all the pics from the bachelorette party!

  8. Dorothy

    You are a genious! I love the runner. If you get serious about sewing you are welcome to come here and use mine and I could help you.

  9. Mom

    It sounds like you have much support for the sewing gig you want to tackle so you should give it another try! The runner looks great and so inexpensive compared to the cost of purchasing them. I think I could do that! Great tip.

  10. Pingback: Black and White Bachelorette Party « DIYing to be Domestic

  11. Pingback: DIY No-Sew Laptop Case | DIYing to be Domestic

Leave a Reply

