My Sister’s DIY Wedding

My sister got married last summer.  This is not news, but it has taken me this long to wrap my mind around sharing all of the fun projects and beautiful pictures that came out of this special event.  Even so I won’t take the time to explain them all.  Picture proof is good enough at this point.

My sister wanted a very small, intimate wedding.  She was kind enough to involve me in the process.

The wedding was at Silver Fork Lodge in Big Cottonwood Canyon.  It couldn’t be a more beautiful setting for an August wedding.

Silver Fork Lodge

Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by Kate Elizabeth Photography and more available for viewing here.

The venue is a little bed and breakfast (and tasty diner – the sourdough start is apparently more than 100 years old) in Big Cottonwood Canyon.  We wanted to make sure guests didn’t get distracted by the beautiful scenery and miss it.  So I found this easel at the thrift store for $15 (one of the most expensive items from the wedding!). One side had a chalkboard that we just removed.  It was good and sturdy and always could be used by my sister’s twin daughters in the future! I cut out letters using the Cricuit and simply taped them on.  We hoped for good weather and lucked out.

Welcome Sign

My sister’s now-husband walked down the aisle first.  Their twin daughters and flower girls were supposed to walk down with him; however, they weren’t having that after waking up a little too early from that afternoon nap.

baskets

The flower girls’ baskets were also from the thrift store, where I purchased them for 50 cents each.

DI baskets

My sister’s florist decorated the arch.

arch

Her hubby-to-be, a gifted musician, played acoustic guitar while my dad walked her down the aisle.

Wedding Cid & Drew-79

This little shack proved quite the eyesore along my sister’s walk to the arch.  I covered it with lace curtains I found at a Goodwill in Nebraska and other white sheer curtains from Ikea.

CurtainsThe groom’s dad provided the rings in a leather pouch we purchased at a leather store in West Jordan.

Leather Ring Bag

The twin daughters got rings as well.

Plastic Rings

Kiss the Bride

The happy new family participated in a sand ceremony to symbolize the uniting of all four of them.

Sand

Sand end result

The dinner and reception was quite the party!

Tree Photos

Rock Chalkboard

Rock Basket

Rocks

mason jar

Flowers

mason jars

mason

vases 2

Vases

vases3

I collected unique vases and jars for about a month or so before the big day.

vases4

mrmrsbest

mrmrs

Card Table

Wedding Cid & Drew-29

lanterns 5

Lanterns

I recommend buying paper lanterns.  (We got these used on KSL.)  Making the string ball was quite messy.

lanterns4A friend made their cake.

cakeThe cake stand was purchased from Etsy.

Chalkboard

The chalkboard menu was created from an old mirror I had laying around.

Eat

Eat, drink, be married!

Be Married

Eat Drink Be Married

The groom’s band played for dancing party guests of all ages.

Wedding Cid & Drew-475

Wedding Cid & Drew-394

poms

See more of the photographer’s photos on Kate Elizabeth’s blog.

2 Comments

Filed under DIY, Party Planning

2 responses to “My Sister’s DIY Wedding

  1. Cidney

    Beautiful!! I can never thank you enough for making the most magical wedding ever!!!

  2. Mom

    So glad you got this on your site :) Sure we had photographers, flower artist, caterers, musician’s and the like, but you sure did add that special touch that could only come from Love…..

Leave a Reply

