Dinosaur Hoodie

For my nephew’s first birthday I made him a dinosaur hoodie inspired by the tutorial found here.

Rawr!

I was a little nervous sewing with felt but the tutorial was super easy to follow.  I used a plain hoodie from Wal-Mart that cost about $8.  (The hood lining was orange so that’s how I picked the color for the scales.)

First, make triangles along the crease of your felt pieces.


Then pin the pieces along the center line of the back of the hoodie and up the center of the hood.  Sew down the center line.

Hint: Don’t panic when disaster strikes.

Now that the triangles are sewn to the hoodie, pin them together to make scales.

Sew along the edges of the felt triangles to secure the scales in place.

Lastly, prance around in your hoodie to make all your cousins jealous.

61 Comments

Filed under DIY

61 responses to “Dinosaur Hoodie

  1. Betsy

    LOVE! I am totally making one for my Jack!

  2. Cidney

    So jealous! Adorable

  3. Ah – he looks completely adorable (and tiny)! Am so pleased you liked the tutorial, and really thrilled to see how it turned out. The orange felt is just perfect!

    Thanks so much for letting me know you’d posted this, and for linking back to the original tutorial.

    x

  4. Mom

    Love it, everyone got a kick out of it. So fun and thoughtful :)

  5. Love how yours turned out! I am going to make one this week!

  6. madeline

    did you hand sew everything?

  7. jaimeleighsisman

    How do you wash this?

  8. kim

    What measurments did you use for your triangles?

  9. Breanne

    I’ve been wanting to make this for awhile but all the tutorials I’ve seen want you to cut the sweater in half….this makes it so much easier and less scary :)

  10. Claire

    What is keeping the spikes standing up? My hubbys thinks (as do I) that they will fall, even after washing. I’d love to make one for my 4 yr old who is in love w/ dinos.

    • Me

      You could probably use some interfacing to keep them standing up. This is on my “to do” list for an upcoming crafting weekend and I’m planning on putting interfacing in. (I may actually use standard cotton fabric with heavy interfacing instead of felt so I can iron on the interfacing.)

      • I’d love to hear how the interfacing went? I found that with the stiffness of the felt they stood pretty decently on their own. But a little extra support couldn’t hurt!

  11. Heidi

    super cute! is that a flip diaper i spy?!

  12. I think Ive created a MONSTER ! loll

  13. Pingback: DIY Altered Hoodies for All AgesUnicorn Hat Party

  14. Pingback: Dinosaur Hoodie

  15. I just made this as well! So cute! Super easy. I cut a triangle from the newspaper and used it as a guide. Took me probably an hour to make.

  16. This is a wicked idea, I might have to make one for myself…nice one, thanks for sharing

  17. This is so great! I needed to knock together a quicky dino costume for a kid’s party, this is perfect!!! Yay!!

  18. Pingback: The Stylish Adventures of Lilasaurus « 3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

  19. Pingback: The post where I lost my mojo « SewSquirrel

  20. Tera

    I do not sew…I wish I could buy it lol love it

  21. Pingback: DINORAUUUUUURRR « SewSquirrel

  22. Jillian

    I would also love to know how you got the spikes to stand up!

  23. Priscilla

    love the hoodie. I also noticed the flip diaper!

  24. Pingback: Dino Hoodies

  25. i love this and can’t wait to make one for my daughter, a girly dino!

  26. Christina

    I am IN LOVE with this. However, NOT crafty at all! So, my boyfriend and I were wondering (Cuz he LOVES it too) if you make and sell these? If so how much would you charge (including shipping)

    Thanks in Advance :)

  27. Plan on making one for myself. Such an awesome idea. Love Dinos!
    Thanks for the share

  28. I’m planning to make two of these soon – did you ever wash this? I see it mentioned in the comments, how did it hold up? Thanks!

  29. Hey Tasha,

    I work for http://www.sheknows.com and are doing an article on cheap crafts. We came across this post, and was wondering if we could use your photos from it, if we link back to your site?

    Katie Owen

  30. Eleni

    My daughter is absolutely obsessed with dinosaurs! I think this would make a great Halloween outfit for her.

  31. Pingback: How to make a dinosaur-hoodie in just three easy steps | Mum Of One

  32. Pingback: Healthy Halloween DIY Pumpkin Vegetable Tray - Our Full Plate

  33. Lindsey

    How should you wash the hoodie free the felt is on?

  34. Amanda

    Just finished one of these for a Christmas present for my nephew and it was super easy! Awesome tutorial, thanks! Thinking of also appliquing his name on the front to with the leftover felt.

  35. Pingback: 12 Gifts of Christmas: Gifts for Boys | a project at a time

  36. Beth

    Thanks for the tutorial! I made one for my little nephew and it turned out so cute!

  37. Pingback: CARNIVAL COSTUMES / DISFRACES DE CARNAVAL | DEtails & DEco

  38. Pingback: Sitefan de petit dinosaure | Le blog bébé de Sitefan® et ses astuces puériculture pour maman-bébé et les tout-petits:

  39. I had been searching for recommendations for my very own website and stumbled upon ur post, “Dinosaur Hoodie | DIYing to be Domestic” natoma08 ,
    do you mind in the event that I really start using several of your own points?
    Thx -Tony

  40. Pingback: My Little Dinosaurs | Marcellus Photo Etc

  41. Kaitlyn

    I love this! Aaaand if it will work, I’m making one for me! (:

  42. Pingback: 25 Things to Sew for Boys - Crazy Little Projects

  43. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in
    it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit,
    but instead of that, this is magnificent blog. A fantastic read.

    I will certainly be back.

  44. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that
    over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  45. Pingback: Top 28 Most Adorable DIY Baby Projects Of All Time - DIY & Crafts

  46. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!

    Extremely helpful information particularly the closing
    section :) I care for such information a lot. I was
    seeking this particular information for a very lengthy
    time. Thanks and best of luck.

  47. Lisa

    I’m going to make this for my 2year old granddaughter.

  48. katie

    I’m trying to decide whether I use fabric or felt, my concern is of course the washability. Anyone have any feedback on this?

    • I made two of these a year ago for my kids for Halloween and they still wear them (though I’ll need to make bigger ones soon) and they’ve been washed regularly throughout the year. The felt had held up fine! :)

  49. Pingback: Friday Five: Things I Need To Do Before The Baby Learns To Talk | Two Blog Moms

  50. krystie

    I just made this for my daughter! Thank you for sharing!! Disaster struck many times on the hood but i went a little to the side of the seem and it worked fine!

Leave a Reply

