“Time Flies” Airplane-Themed First Birthday Party

Last week I had to give you a sneak peak of this first birthday party I decorated for one airplane-loving toddler.


This may be the most adorable pilot the world’s ever seen – so it was my job to make sure his party was as smashing as he is!

The invites, photographed and designed by the birthday boy’s mom, set the “Time Flies” theme for his birthday.

The birthday boy came ready to party in his aviator outfit and he invited his friends to do the same.  (It was, after all, the day for trick or treating!)

Even Weston’s parents came in aviator gear.  His Mom was a striking Amelia Earhart and his Dad was one killer Ice Man from Top Gun.

For those adults that didn’t dress up (myself included) I provided TSA agent lanyards.

Upon entering, guests were instructed to fasten their seat belts for this rockin’ party!

A photo of Weston awaited his guests in the entry way.

Guests were also able to quickly check their “baggage.”

The paper products for the party used the same map-style paper from the local scrapbook store.

I designed one of the tables using salt and pepper shakers from the dollar store.

For the cake table, I made paper airplanes that hung alongside tissue pom pom clouds.  (I’ll know next time to hang the airplanes closer toward the back so they hang level. Who knew?)

I made the cake stand from boxes wrapped in packing paper and tied with baking twine.  I offered peanuts in both the roasted and salted varieties.

The cupcakes were delicious! These clever cooks used an Oreo cookie in the bottom of each cupcake liner.

I incorporated the theme on the straw flags.  These straws are my absolute favorite.

I also used paper airplanes for other table decor.  (By the way, paper airplanes are not easy to make!)

I hung several vintage travel posters for New Zealand, where the birthday boy’s grandparents are from.

I also created a photo booth that was intended to look like an airplane.

Each child received a wooden kit to make and paint their own airplane.  I displayed each favor in sacks adorned with vintage travel labels.  I lined them up in old suitcases I bought from the thrift store.

I think the birthday boy had a good time!

11 Comments

Filed under Party Planning

11 responses to ““Time Flies” Airplane-Themed First Birthday Party

  1. Dorothy

    Well done! What a cutie Weston is. I love your ideas. This was very creative.

  2. Mom

    You didn’t leave out a thing. My gosh what an amazing collection of cute ideas!! Very well done! Loved the baggage collection area and cute picture idea with the cardboard plane. You rocked it :)

  3. Can you please tell me where you got your little mans hat and jacket? I am begging!

    • Sorry for the delay! I had to talk to the lil’ guy’s mom. She got the hat from an online store but doesn’t remember which one. She thinks she may have found it through buy.com or the find shopping site. She got the jacket on eBay and added the patches herself. When you get yours done let me know the link so I can come see it!

  4. Jaime

    Hi, OMG…LOVE IT!!! Who made the invitations?

  5. Pingback: Wild, Wild One: Cowboy Themed First Birthday Party | DIYing to be Domestic

  6. Rachel

    I love this theme! Where did you find he baby gear?

  7. melodymyers@live.com

    So cute! I am hoping to do the same theme for my little guy’s1st birthday in a couple of months, so thank you for the fun ideas!
    Can I ask where you got his jacket for the pictures? and his hat?
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

