Alvin and the Chipmunks Birthday Party

My niece’s Chipmunk-inspired fourth birthday party was a big hit.  I based the décor on the colors of the characters – red for Alvin, blue for Simon, and green for Theodore. (Surprisingly, the birthday girl didn’t have a lot of interest in the Chippettes.)

For an exciting entrance, I propped the movie poster on an easel I bought off Craigslist for $5. A little gold cloth (on sale!) added a movie theatre feel.  The kids were just astonished that the poster was so big.

Next to the movie poster I displayed a table full of party favors for each of the kids: microphones, VIP passes, Simon-like glasses, and mouse ears.  I got the glasses from the costume shop in the Harry Potter aisle.

It says “Get your munk on here.”

I made this VIP pass for each of the kids:

The favors were a hit and were a perfect accompaniment to the kids’ attire.  Of course, the birthday girl was Alvin.  My oldest nephew was Simon, hence the blue shirt, and my youngest nephew was Theodore (in green).  I think he protested since he had to wear three layers of down clothing to add some weight to his physique.

Do you see “Uncle Ian” at the bottom right? I hope the birthday girl knows what a loving father she has to shave the top of his head to look just like the balding producer.

Inside, I created a “dessert table.”  Dessert tables are all the rage these days, but who can honestly eat all that dessert? And that candy must be so expensive. So I included only popcorn and peanuts, foods  that were theme-appropriate.

Apparently, the “r” fell off.  It was there at one point, I promise.

We created the banner using the Cricuit to cut the yellow letters.  It boggles my mind how easy that tool makes things.

I love these treat cones below.  I got the inspiration from the Hostess Blog here. First I bought shadowboxes on sale at Michaels.  Then I cut craft styrofoam to fit inside each box.  Next I spray painted the styrofoam to match the gumballs.  With lollipop sticks as support, I propped the cones on each stick.  The cones were perfect for the popcorn but the peanuts were a little heavy.  Nonetheless, it worked just fine.

Mama Judd made a cake in the shape of an “A” for the centerpiece of the dessert table.

I flanked either side of the table with a little color.  All the colored vases I bought at the thrift store for a dollar or less.

Outside, we hung beach balls from the rain gutter.  The party was initially a pool party, but when the venue changed I had to reincarnate them.  A friend was able to cut vinyl As to adorn them. (Word is the Cricuit can cut vinyl, too.)

Each of the dining tables was inspired by one of the characters.

The whole party turned out great! My brother told me that each of my parties are getting bigger and better.  My 8 year old nephew said, “I’ve gotta admit, Tasha, you throw a good party.” And even though those compliments were so sweet, just seeing the look on my niece’s face was the best reward.

19 Comments

Filed under Party Planning

19 responses to “Alvin and the Chipmunks Birthday Party

  1. Dorothy

    WOW! I am so impressed. This was so cute. I love your creativity.

  2. Lauren

    You rock Tasha. Love all the details!

  3. Lori

    Well you rocked it! So creative, my friend!

  4. you are one talented woman — I never knew an Alvin party could end up so ADORABLE!

  5. Mom

    Tasha,
    Loved, loved the Alvin party!! HUGE HIT :) So creative. Get your munk here was hilarious!

  6. Pingback: What Might Have Been: Fancy Nancy Birthday Party « DIYing to be Domestic

  7. This is super cute! You are so creative!! Love all the details and the centerpieces are some of my favorites! Thanks for sharing!

  8. Pingback: On Location: Surf Party on a Beach « DIYing to be Domestic

  9. Pingback: Lil’ Sunshine Baby Shower Brunch « DIYing to be Domestic

  10. Pingback: Wild, Wild One: Cowboy Themed First Birthday Party | DIYing to be Domestic

  11. Deanna

    Where did you get the movie poster? What about the glasses, and VIP Pass Lanyards? I cant’ find anything like this.

    • Hi Deanna! I got the movie poster from eBay, the glasses from a local costume shop (they were actually Harry Potter glasses) and I made the VIP lanyards using lanyards I bought in packs of 12 at the dollar store. Hope that helps!

  12. THE IDEAS WERE GREAT AND NOT EXPENSIVE THAT WAS FUN AND EXCITING FOR THE KIDS AND ADULTS AS WELL I’M PLANNING A B-DAY PARTY FOR MYSELF IN MAY I WILL USE THE CONE IDEA WITH
    HOT PINK AND ZEBRA I HOPE IT COMES OUT WELL,TRYING TO KEEP IT AFFORDABLE FOR A 43RD B-DAY ,

  13. Veronica

    cute idea! I am planning my son’s party with this theme. Love the lanyard idea! Where were you able to find the “backstage pass insert?”
    Also, were the microphones hand made?

  14. Rachel

    Love! How did you make the chipmunk ears? My daughter wants this theme and I would love the make (or buy) the ears for her party. Thanks!

  15. Pingback: Pinterest-Inspired Christmas Wrap | DIYing to be Domestic

Leave a Reply

